Ask, and Ye May Receive. But Stay Silent And…


Handing Out Literature 2

I don’t understand the evangelists who stand at my train station every morning.

That’s not to say I don’t like them. They seem like sincere, polite people, attempting to spread their faith in their particular religion. But in the seven years I have seen them standing there with their reading materials, whether they are wearing brightly-colored sun bonnets or skull caps and down coats, they have never once offered me a pamphlet or even tried to engage me in conversation.

Now granted, perhaps I am not their target demo. In fact, my physical presentation makes me quite sure of that. And if they did ask me a question or hand me a pamphlet, I would politely decline and wish them a good day.

But here’s the thing: they’ve never even tried. And by not engaging with me, they don’t even know whether I would be receptive to what they are offering.

The same holds true for business: if you don’t ask, you are certain to not get. And no business can survive on that strategy.

2 thoughts on “Ask, and Ye May Receive. But Stay Silent And…

  1. I had a similar instance with the Willard Preacher at Penn State. He was called the Willard Preacher because he stood in front of the Willard Building on campus. Well, I walked by him every day on the way to class. I never stopped to hear him and he never once stopped me to ask me why ignored his “gospel.” I guess he just felt that he would preach to those who listened and ignore those who did not.

Leave a Reply

