It All Looks So Peaceful from 23,000 Feet


ItAllLooksSoPeacefulFrom23000Feet

I’ve come to expect wifi on airplanes.

It’s really ridiculous. I take for granted that we – as a technologically advanced society – should be able to seamlessly layer one magical concept (wifi) on top of another (flight).

Stop to think about it. It’s (as my 4-year-old would tell me) RI-DONK-U-LOUS!!!

I mean, really. Full internet, almost-streaming capability bandwidth, from inside a metal can, strapped to a pair (or two) of jet engines traveling at 700 miles an hour, just miles beneath the edge of space. Really???

My son is right.

And so since I don’t have wifi connectivity as I type this, I have the liberty – the luxury – of being completely disconnected. I can look out the window, quiet my brain, and pause. Think. Imagine. And yes, sleep a little. (Remember, I have kids. I need sleep whenever and wherever I can get it.)

We need these times. They can help us find our center, our equilibrium. We can choose to stretch, or relax, our brains. We can let our imaginations dance off the cloud tops, and indulge our spirits in, well, spirits. (read: Bombay Sapphire. Now you know.)

Connectivity is great. It helps us be productive.

Dis-connectivity is equally great. Unplug.

Leave a Reply

