Be Here, Now.


You Are Here

I just finished listening to a podcast by the brilliant Chris Brogan, part of his series called The Human Business Way. If you’ve not checked it out, do yourself a favor and click over. I listen on Stitcher, because it’s everywhere with me.

In this particular podcast, Chris is interviewing Marcus Sheridan, “The Sales Lion,” who has a fascinating story of personal success. But it was something else that caught my ear and got me thinking.

At the top of the interview, Marcus thanks Chris for “treating me like I was the only guy in the room” on the occasion when they first met. That’s huge. And it stopped me cold.

How many times have we been at a networking event, nursing our favorite libation, with one eye and ear in the conversation in front of us, while the other eye and ear is scanning the room or checking the door to see who else is worth talking to?

Liar. We’ve all done it. It’s such a huge mistake, because it short changes what you’re doing in that moment. And it’s something I am going to work on changing in myself.

It reminded me of a post I wrote about a year ago on multitasking. At the time, I didn’t include personal relationships in the post, and that was a huge omission on my part.

You see, I believe that when we’re doing something, we’ve got to commit. 100%. We’ve got to be in that moment right then and there, and not have one eye on what might be coming next. Savor what is there in front of you, extract all its value, and give a little back in the process. In other words, “Be Here, Now.”

So the next time we meet in person and I look over your shoulder to scan the room, smack me.

4 thoughts on “Be Here, Now.

  1. Great post! Focus in the now is something I know I need to improve. I am really bad at remembering names. What are some good ways to improve on this kind of focus in this noisy world we live in?

    1. Thanks Ben! I always like to repeat someone’s name when I meet them, and play a little association game to help me remember. Michael Scott famously did this on The Office (poorly, with hilarious result) but I find it does work!

Leave a Reply

