The Back To Work Manifesto


Back to Work Manifesto

[tweetmeme source=”jodyfisher”only_single=false https://jodyfisher.wordpress.com%5D

So here I am, back in the office after a glorious four weeks at home with my family. It was time much needed: spent just being me, with no work (minor lie), no deadlines (also a minor lie) and putting my energy into things that really make a difference (total truth). I could have done another four weeks, easily. My tank is again full.

So as I strap myself in for the sprint to the end of this year, I take the opportunity to reassess, reinforce what’s working, and change what’s not. For better or worse, here is my Back to Work Manifesto:

1. More phone calls, less email. Email allows us to avoid real connection, and prevents us from building better relationships. Talking with someone forces the human, and that’s good.

2. Put social media in its place. I did not miss constantly updating my status, which means no one else did, either. Use social media for what it was made for: sharing meaningful content with your core group of friends and family. Fewer, better posts. Less crap. No negativity.

3. Lose 10 pounds. Unless you are a pro athlete or a supermodel, everyone could stand to lose 10 pounds. And for me, that’s a starting point, not the final goal.

4. Take breaks. When working on a project, turn off all distractions (see “There’s No Such Thing As MultiTasking“), work for one hour or as long as it takes to complete that project, and take a break. Stand up, walk around, drink a glass of water, sit down to work again, repeat.

5. Truly network. Make one new contact a week, and truly engage with them. Touch base with one old contact each week, and find out what they’ve been up to. Jettison those who have nothing to offer. It’ll be good for both of you. Yeah, I said it.

6. Learn one new thing a week. Doesn’t matter what it is, so long as it’s vaguely useful. I like TedTalks.

7. Spend less, save more. Not just money. Think about what that means for you and make it work.

8. Make your daily lists, and stick to them. Small, achievable projects that move you to a larger goal. Judge yourself by how many things you check off everyday.

9. Rock out. Define for yourself. (My version sounds something like this.)

10. Go home at a normal hour to spend time with your family. No one gets (or should get) “he stayed late at the office” chiseled on his tombstone.

What’s your Back to Work Manifesto?

Leave a Reply

