Slow Down!


[tweetmeme source=”jodyfisher”only_single=false https://jodyfisher.wordpress.com%5D

Yep, I blew it. 

In the sprint to get too many things done at once, I made a boneheaded mistake this week. What’s worst is that, had I just taken my foot off the gas, it likely wouldn’t have happened.

It all worked out in the end, but the anxiety of the error made for some unnecessary stress.

And it doesn’t mean the mistake shouldn’t have happened in the first place. So what do I take away from it all?

Our world screams at us to move fast: we fly cross-country for a noon meeting and rush to get home for dinner; we measure deadlines in minutes and seconds rather than hours and days; and we have whole conversations on email and twitter. When we don’t get responses in seconds, we think we are being ignored. In short, we can all move too rapidly, and the cost can be our accuracy and – sometimes – our personal equilibrium.

There are times we have to move swiftly, even fast. But it’s a bad idea to sacrifice accuracy and our sanity to do it.

2 thoughts on “Slow Down!

  1. Oh my goodness, I’m glad you’re okay. I know it’s especially difficult to take this advice to heart when we’re in the industries we’re in.

    I underwent surgery yesterday morning and it’s been almost impossible for me to rest because I just don’t know how to. I called my editor soon after I returned from the hospital to tell her everything went okay and she had to tsk, tsk me to go lie down.

Leave a Reply

